Fruity & nutty rusk biscuits

image

My good friend Anussha’s mint masala chai recipe has been extremely popular on Shivaay Delights. So I asked her if she could share another one of her wonderful recipes that I got to devour, when I went round to hers for a play date with the children.

Anussha is such a warm and loving person, with an extremely caring soul. She plans what she is going to make for us when we get together. Though I tell her not to worry there will always be something delightful to eat!

This time there was no exception! These twice baked rusk biscuits are scrumptious and took me back to my childhood. It’s the aniseed flavour in these gorgeous rusks that made me recall red sweet aniseed balls, that I would stash away in my heavy school ruck sack

Plus the added benefit is that your getting your fruit, nuts and seeds intake all in this sweet cookie!

You can choose nuts, dried fruits and seeds of your choice. Make them simple or more festive! One recipe I am sure you will come back to again and again!

image

Thanks Anussha…much love D xxxx

INGREDIENTS

250g butter melted
500g self raising flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups bran flakes crushed or weetabix
2 cups nuts and seeds of your choice such as sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, pumpkin seeds
1 cup dried fruit such as chopped apricots,dried dates and dried figs
1 tsp heaped aniseed seeds
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup natural yoghurt

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c.  Add all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl

•Stir in the melted butter and yoghurt

•Make small round balls and arrange on a lined baking tray

Place in the oven tray bake for 15-20 minutes

Then flip the rusks and bake for an extra 5 minutes

image

Rusks ready! Have yourself a cup of tea and dunk a rusk!

14 thoughts on “Fruity & nutty rusk biscuits

  1. Pingback: Fette biscottate integrali all’orzo | La Caccavella

  2. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Banoffee Pie | Shivaay Delights

Leave a Reply

