Orange & white chocolate sponge

image

What I very frequently do is raid my fridge and see what interesting culinary inventions I can come up with. Today your in for a sweet treat! Mind you, portion controlled as I’m trying to lose a little weight. Hold up! Hold up! Your probably thinking she makes all this food and she eats it AND now she wants to lose weight??!!!

Well to let you in on a little secret for the past month I’ve stopped eating crisps! And shop bought chocolate bars! That has helped! but what I do now more than ever is that I’ve been spreading the baking love especially and giving my sweet creations to family, friends and neighbours. That way I’m not lured into temptation.

But I will put my hands up to eating the sides off of the triangles when I was making the edges straight! The orange scent filled our home with a warmth as the cake started to rise in the oven. A subtle yet not too sweet sponge to marry perfectly with the creamy white chocolate stripes as my finish on these tantalizing triangles!

image

INGREDIENTS

150g softened butter
165g caster sugar
200g self raising flour
1 heaped tsp baking powder
3 free range eggs
4 tbsp milk
zest of one orange
½ tsp vanilla extract

For the glaze
juice of ½ an orange
4 tbsp icing sugar
6 squares white chocolate melted

image

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c/350°f/gas mark 4.Cream butter,sugar and zest in a mixer until creamy and fluffy. Add eggs slowly one at a time and mix again

image

• Fold in the flour and baking powder, combine well. Pour in the milk and extract and stir gently
image

• Turn out batter into a greased and lined rectangular baking tray and smooth out the batter using a spatula

image

Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, until golden brown. Wait 5 minutes and then put to cool on a wiring rack

image

• To make the glaze, mix the icing sugar and orange juice together until smooth and pour over the cake, distributing evenly to give a glossy shine

image

Slice rectangle into 6 squares and then divide an individual square into a triangle and repeat giving you 12 cake portions

• For the chocolate stripes, take a little chocolate on a teaspoon and slowly drizzle over the triangles

image

29 thoughts on “Orange & white chocolate sponge

  1. Hey Dimple, thanks for the follow! Other than a photographer, Im also a crave for delicious cooking. Your food is amazing, will be an inspiration when I dont know what to cook 🙂

  2. Definitely going to give this one a try! I love that it’s a bit different… I love experimenting with fruit and more decadent ingredients such as chocolate in my baking. Keep up the good work lovely 😊 will let you know how my cake turns out too ☺️X

Leave a Reply

