Delightful Chocolate Mousse

image

I always thought mousse was quite a fussy thing to do. I was under the impression that you need cream which I hardly have on hand and gelling agents but boy was I wrong when I found this recipe! I adapted it by spiking it with almond extract to infuse it with nuttiness! And you clearly get the almond notes as the smooth mousse caresses your tongue.

I had all these delicious ingredients, I made it in the afternoon and by the evening dessert was ready! I still have 2 ramekins full of chocolate delight…you never know I might have a Nigella moment and devour some in the middle of the night!

INGREDIENTS

75g plain chocolate melted
2 eggs separated
25g butter unsalted preferred
2 tbsp caster sugar
½ tsp almond extract

METHOD

• Combine the melted chocolate with butter and let it cool a little, stir in the egg yolks and almond extract

image

• Whisk the egg whites and add sugar until stiff peaks form

image

• Gently fold the egg whites into the chocolate, making sure everything is combined

image

Spoon into 4 small pots or ramekins and chill for a few hours until ready to indulge!

image

image

Adapted from Good Food

27 thoughts on “Delightful Chocolate Mousse

  1. This looks awesome. I am completely addicted to Itsu’s chocolate mousse but this looks every bit as good, I may just use your recipe and stop going there 😉

  2. Pingback: Delightful Chocolate Mousse | Shivaay Delights

  3. This looks fantastic Dimple! Yum, I am such a fan of chocolate mousse but it’s been a long time since I’ve made it at home. LOVE the photo of the spoonful… it looks so light and delicious. Yum! Definitely bookmarked to try! xx

Leave a Reply

