Soda bread

image

Now the time has come to start experimenting with different breads.  This is my very first time at making soda bread so I used a Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall recipe that I knew would not fail me.  I was right.  The bread went really well with the pistou soup I had made (a taste of Provence ~ pistou soup) but I do recommend that the bread is eaten on the same day as it is truly fresh and tasty!

I feel so sleepy as I woke up really early again, however I have to complete some posts as my kitchen will be out of action for the next couple of days as we are re-freshing with a new lick of paint.  I can’t wait to have my kitchen back and looking brand new…it’s amazing how you get attached to a particular room in the house.  All my creations have been concocted in there and my passion has ever increased with each dish I make.  I hope your enjoying the recipes I’m posting as much as I love making and writing them for you all x

INGREDIENTS

500g plain flour
2 level tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp salt
400 ml yoghurt
A little milk if needed

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 200°c/400°f/gas mark 6. Mix the flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda together, slowly add the yoghurt to bring the dough together

• Turn out dough onto a floured surface and kneed gently for 1 minute to get the dough into a rough ball shape. The ball surface does not have to be smooth

• Flour a baking sheet and place dough on top, mark it by cutting ⅔ down into quarters and heavily flour

image

• Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the loaf is hollow when the base is tapped. Serve warm with some sumptuous butter

image

image

12 thoughts on “Soda bread

Leave a Reply

