Coffee and walnut cupcakes

image

Following on from the coffee theme of the Mocha melts I made these for my best friends when they came over for a visit and a girly catch up.  They went down a treat and some were sent off with them for their husbands before I received complaints that they missed out.  I absolutely adore baking for friends and family, any excuse at any occasion or event or I just call them round when there is something to sample!  Coming up soon is chocolate fondants!  Come round all there will be plenty for everyone!

INGREDIENTS

110g self raising flour
110g caster sugar
110g butter spread soft
1 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs
2 tbsp instant coffee granules diluted in 1 1/2 tbsp boiling water
50 g chopped walnuts

For topping
200g icing sugar
2 tbsp instant coffee granules diluted in 2 tbsp boiling water
12 walnut halves for decoration

METHOD

1. Preheat oven to 170ºc/325ºf/gas mark 3. Line a muffin pan with 12 cupcake cases

2. Mix flour and sugar in a large bowl or food processor, add the butter spread, eggs, baking powder and beat until pale and fluffy.

3. Add the coffee mixture into the batter, slowly fold in the chopped walnuts and spoon the batter into the cases. Bake in the oven on the middle shelf for about 20 minutes until firm to the touch, set aside to cool

4. To make the icing, combine the icing sugar, coffee mixture and stir well. If you find the coffee flavour too strong adjust according to taste by adding more sugar and a little more boiling water for desired flavour and consistency. Using a spoon, ice the cakes and top off with a walnut halve on each

image

This wonderful recipe is from Baking Magic (K.Shirazi & S.Blake)

41 thoughts on “Coffee and walnut cupcakes

  1. Wow these look delicious. I love mocha flavored sweets. What a nice gathering. I think it’s important to socialize even when life gets so busy. This is the perfect thing to socialize over!

  2. I love your blog! These look absolutely delicious and I must make them because I am addicted to cupcakes. Thanks for sharing and I might just use your recipe on my blog 🙂

  3. Could u pls let me know what to substitute for eggs.Thank u
    …PS…I love ur recipes…. I’m a vvv amateur baker….still figuring a lot….

Leave a Reply

