Apple and cherry cake

image

image

A moist and fruity cake with my favourite fruits. Using gala apples gives the cake extra sweetness and the cherries balances the flavour by adding a little sourness. Hope you enjoy x

INGREDIENTS

300g self raising flour
150g castor sugar
85g unsalted butter
2 large eggs
Zest of 1 small lemon and juice
handful of cherries, halved and stoned
2 gala apples cored and chopped into a medium pieces
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
a splash of milk
1 tbsp icing sugar to dust

METHOD

1. Pre heat oven to 180c/350f/gas Mark 4, line and grease a 20 cm cake tin

2. Cream butter and sugar till yellowy cream in colour and fluffy. Add eggs. Mix well

3. Once apples are peeled, cored and chopped squeeze over the lemon juice to avoid the apple discolouring

4. Fold in flour and combine. Throw in the apples and cherries along with zest and mix well. A little milk will be needed to make sure batter is of semi-drop consistency

5. Pour in the mixture into the cake tin and bake for 40-45 mins until golden brown. Leave in tin to cool.
Once cooled dust with icing sugar and serve with a little single cream or custard

Adapted from http://www.redonline.co.uk/food/recipes/gennaro-apple-cake

image

15 thoughts on “Apple and cherry cake

  1. Reblogged this on Shivaay Delights and commented:

    I have so many recipes I wish to post…But can’t get my hands on MY TABLET! As my 3 year old has now declared it as his…So here i share a recipe that I made when I first started blogging! Hope you enjoy the sweetness it gives! Have a wonderful week!
    Much love D x

  2. I am so jealous, Dimple. I just have very few to post – if I am not mistaken I have only 2. Yet, I have not written anything for that post. My life is little busy.

    Mmm, you can post it when the little boy get tired. Or maybe you can bribe him with food. 😀

    This cake looks yummy! 😉

Leave a Reply

