A Creamy Chapati Curry

image

Lunchtime yesterday was about using up food that I already had ready to eat! My husband discovered some chapatis and fancied them hot. I thought to curry them up in a creamy yoghurt sauce laced with garlic and chilli. I have watched my Mum make this wonderful dish when it was just me and her for lunch, when I lived at home. We both love tangy yoghurt and this spicy sour sensation really is something very enjoyable!

A light yellow silky sauce to accompany and soak into the pre cooked chapatis! A definite staple in our home when we have left over chapatis!

image

INGREDIENTS

4 pre cooked chapatis/tortillas torn into bite size pieces
4 tbsp mild natural yoghurt/greek yoghurt
½ cup water/100 ml water
1 large garlic clove crushed
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp cumin seeds
pinch of dried red chilli seeds
⅓ tsp garam masala
⅓ tsp turmeric
½ tsp coriander & cumin powder
⅓ tsp chilli powder
⅓ tsp salt or to taste
Fresh coriander to garnish

METHOD

• Whisk the yoghurt and water together

• Heat the oil in a medium non-stick saucepan, add the chilli, mustard and cumin seeds along with the crushed garlic

image

• Once the seeds start to pop slowly add the yoghurt mixture, stir in the seasoning and spices and whisk on a low heat, throw in the chapati/tortilla and whisk

image

image

image

• Keep on a low simmer and stir to avoid separation of yoghurt. Do not boil just let the sauce warm through and serve with a sprinkling of fresh coriander

image

39 thoughts on “A Creamy Chapati Curry

  1. Wow that looks so tasty, Dimple! Can I replace the yogurt with almond milk to make it dairy free? Thanks for sharing & keep posting more of your traditional recipes, please!!

  2. Ooooh yum Dimple! This reminds me sitting next to my granny at the table when I was a little girls nd asking her to mush up my rotli in my curry – it tasted so much better when she did it for me!

  3. It’s sinful hs to give a try I came across but not dis sinful it’s just attract ma attention & u too sweety a grt. Innovative Chef.

Leave a comment